© Steffi Henn

ABOUT LENNART BETZGEN

Lennart Alexander Betzgen was born and raised in Berlin, Germany. He gained his first experience in front of a camera when he was only three years old with his appearance in the children's series "Anja and Anton." At the age of four, he got his first speaking part on TV in “Für alle Fälle Stefanie."  The door into the world of film was opened for him. Since then, he has appeared in numerous roles on television, movies, and commercials.


Betzgen’s movie debut was the historical film “Die Entdeckung der Currywurst” based on a novel by Uwe Timm of the same name. Later, he took the opportunity to be part of the award-winning movie “Stronger than Blood,“ followed by acting in “Lessons of a Dream” starring renowned German actor, Daniel Brühl. Other cinema movie roles include the comedy "Verrückt nach Fixi" and Philipp Kadelbach's "So viel Zeit."

From 2007 to the present time, Lennart Betzgen has been studying acting at the Theaterschule Berlin under the direction of Anette Schreiber. It is at the Theaterschule, he is mastering techniques of the acting craft, and continuingly feeding his passion for acting. He regularly performs plays, by William Shakespeare, Frank Wedekind, Rainer Werner Fassbinder and other playwrights in front of a live audience.  Lennart Betzgen continues his education through regular acting coaching, dance and movement lessons with Daniela Jordan (Berlin University of the Arts), singing lessons and voice training with Ron Randolf, as well as taking piano lessons. Additionally, participating in acting workshops and seminars broaden Lennart Betzgen's horizons.

 

In 2013, he lived in the United States and spent his Junior Year at an American High School. After graduating from school with the German Abitur he studied at University and received the Bachelor of Science degree. Nevertheless, Lennart Betzgen's professional focus still lies entirely on acting. By now his work includes also international projects such as the American movie “Perfect Hideout” with Billy Zane (famous for James Cameron’s “Titanic”) and the Australian-German TV series “In your Dreams 2." 

 

Since 2014, Betzgen has performed the role of Jonas Mertens in the German prime-time TV series, “Tierärztin Dr. Mertens.”  Acting in the 90-minutes special of "Der Bergdoktor," and the comedy show, "Der Lehrer," provided him an opportunity to present himself to a wider audience.  Betzgen's debut episode in "Der Lehrer,” is the most successful episode in the series history to date.

 

In 2020, Lennart Betzgen is being recognized for his leading roles in the 90-minute film "Katie Fforde - Emmas Geheimnis" and in the series "Verbotene Liebe - Next Generation” (streaming on TVNow). In  "Katie Fforde - Emmas Geheimnis," he portrays a talented pianist. As Paul Verhoven in "Verbotene Liebe - Next Generation,” he depicts a character who flees into his own world in search of identity: party and ecstasy.

 

In addition to acting in films and TV, German actor, Lennart Betzgen, has a worked as a voice actor and a model. His voice can be heard in commercials for "Fanta" and "Coca Cola." Luxury retailer mientus.com tapped him several times to showcase their collection. He modeled outfits from world-renowned top designers including labels like "Gucci," "DSQUARED2" and "Dolce & Gabanna."

© Marcus Höhn

ÜBER LENNART BETZGEN

Lennart Alexander Betzgen, geboren und aufgewachsen in Berlin, sammelte schon früh erste Erfahrungen vor der Kamera. Seinen ersten Auftritt hatte er in der Kinderserie „Anja und Anton“. Mit vier Jahren gewann er einen Fotowettbewerb und bekam seine erste Sprechrolle in der Serie „Für alle Fälle Stefanie“. So wurde ihm die Tür in Richtung Schauspiel geöffnet.

Er übernahm ab dem Jahr 2000 weitere Rollen in Film- und Fernsehproduktionen und machte Werbeaufnahmen. 

Sein Kinodebüt gab Betzgen als Paulchen in dem historischen Streifen „Die Entdeckung der Currywurst“ nach der gleichnamigen Novelle von Uwe Timm. Später folgten Rollen in preisgekrönten Kinofilmproduktionen wie „Bis aufs Blut – Brüder auf Bewährung“ und „Der ganz große Traum“. Im Kino war Lennart Betzgen außerdem in der Komödie „Verrückt nach Fixi" und als junger Richy Müller in Philipp Kadelbachs „So viel Zeit" zu erleben.

 

Seit 2007 besucht er die Theaterschule Berlin unter der Leitung von Anette Schreiber. Dort lernt der begeisterte Schauspieler nicht nur die grundlegenden Techniken des Handwerks Schauspiel, er führt auch regelmäßig vor Publikum Stücke von William Shakespeare, Frank Wedekind, Rainer Werner Fassbinder und weiteren Dramatikern auf. Weiterhin bildet sich Lennart Betzgen durch regelmäßiges Schauspielcoaching, Tanz- und Bewegungsunterricht bei Daniela Jordan (Universität der Künste), Gesangunterricht und Stimmbildung bei Ron Randolf sowie Klavierunterricht weiter. Workshops und Seminare erweitern ebenfalls stets Lennart Betzgens Horizont.

 

2013 lebte Lennart Betzgen in den USA und besuchte dort eine amerikanische High School. Im Jahre 2015 erlangte er das deutsche Abitur, machte anschließend einen Bachelor of Science an der Universität, aber nach wie vor liegt sein berufliches Augenmerk voll und ganz auf der Schauspielerei. Zu seinen Schauspielengagements zählen inzwischen auch internationale Produktionen wie der amerikanische Film „Perfect Hideout“ mit Billy Zane (bekannt durch „Titanic“) und die australisch-deutsche Serie „In Your Dreams 2“.

 

Seit 2014 steht Betzgen als Jonas Mertens für die ARD-Primetime-Serie „Tierärztin Dr. Mertens“ vor der Kamera. Einem breiteren Publikum wurde Lennart Betzgen durch das 90-minütigen Special von „Der Bergdoktor" und durch die RTL-Comedy-Serie „Der Lehrer" bekannt. Sein Seriendebüt ist im Hinblick auf den Marktanteil in der werberelevanten Zielgruppe die erfolgreichste Episode in der gesamten Geschichte der Serie.

 

2020 macht Lennart Betzgen mit seinen Hauptrollen im 90-Minüter „Katie Fforde - Emmas Geheimnis“ und in der zehnteiligen Serie „Verbotene Liebe - Next Generation“ des Streaminganbieters TVNow auf sich aufmerksam. In „Katie Fforde - Emmas Geheimnis“ verkörpert er einen talentierten Pianisten. Als Paul Verhoven in „Verbotene Liebe - Next Generation“ flieht er auf der Suche nach Halt in seine eigene Welt - gezeichnet von Party und Ekstase.

 

Neben der Schauspielerei ist Lennart Betzgen auch als Sprecher und Model tätig. Lennart Betzgens Stimme war beispielsweise in Werbespots von „Fanta" und „Coca Cola" zu hören. Der Luxusmode-Shop mientus.com hat Betzgen mehrfach zum Gesicht seiner Kampagnen gemacht. So präsentierte er Outfits weltbekannter Modedesigner und Labels wie Gucci, DSQUARED2 und Dolce & Gabanna.